• 2nd National Undergraduate Research Symposium 2019

    The NASTEC with the participation of large number of leading scientists, economists, technologists, policy makers and other stakeholders in Sri Lanka, developed the National Research and Development Framework (NRDF), which had identified 10 focus areas where immediate interventions are needed. The NRDF has identified 10 areas to focus on and several significant issues under them. These areas consist of;  i) Water, ii) Food, Nutrition and Agriculture, iii) Health, iv) Shelter, v) Environment, vi) Energy, vii) Mineral Resources, viii) Textile & Apparel, ix) IT and Knowledge Services, and x) Basic Sciences, Emerging Technologies and Indigenous Knowledge.

    Read More
  • New Chairperson of NASTEC Assumes Duties

    The newly appointed Chairperson of NASTEC, Prof. Sirimali Fernando assumed duties at the NASTEC on March 11, 2019.

    Prof.Sirimali Fernando started her career as a MBBS qualified medical practitioner in 1982. . She started her academic career as a lecturer in Microbiology in 1985 in the Medical Faculty of University of Ruhuna and was subsequently promoted to senior lecturer in 1993. She worked as a research Fellow and a Registrar/ Senior registrar in Virology at St Georges medical School, London, UK for 5 years since 1989-1993 where she completed her postgraduate studies.

    Read More
  • 8th YSF Research Symposium 2019

    8th YSF Research symposium held on 30th January 2019 at the Construction Insdustry Development Authority

    gallery button

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Science and Technology Development Act No 11 of 1994








National Policy on Mineral Resources


National Research and Development Framework (NRDF)

NRDF cover page

National Science & Technology Policy of Sri Lanka


YSF Video


    Completed Study Groups Proposed Amendments to the Science and Technology Development Act No. 11 of 1994. (Study Group I) (1999) Read More

    This Forum comprises of Directors/Heads of Science and Technology Institutions (including Research and Development Institutions) of the country. NASTEC often Read More

    This Forum comprises of scientists actively engaged in S & T Research and Development work, either directly or by directing Read More
  • 1
  • 2

Our Ministry

Ministry of Science, Technology and Research.

Other Institutions

Arthur C. Clarke Institute for Modern Technology (ACCIMT)

Atomic Energy Authority (AEA)

Industrial Technology Institute (ITI)


Follows Us

Contact Us.

Phone: +94 (11) 2680711
           +94 (11) 2680712
National Science & Technology Commission
No 31/9 ,31/10 Dudly Senanayake Mw,
Colombo 08, Sri Lanka

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.