The Young Scientist Award

YSF steering committee of 2017 decided to resume awarding the Young Scientists Award annually. As the major decision was taken by the YSF steering committee, criteria and marking scheme for YSF award restructured. NASTEC call applications from members of the Young Scientists Forum (YSF) for The Young Scientists Award each year. The most outstanding young scientist will be selected from the applicants and will be awarded a cash price and a certificate at the YSF Symposium. Moreover, the previous year awardee will be invited as the Keynote speaker for each upcoming YSF Symposium. 

The Young Scientist Award 2018

Please refer the criteria for the YSF award and send duly filled application form along with all relevant documents as mentioned in the application.

Download Criteria for the YSF Award

Download Application

Deadline for submitting applications for the Young Scientist Award 2018:

31st August 2018


The Young Scientist Award 2017

A special jury which consisted of Prof. S.J.B.A. Jayasekera (Chairman), Prof. M.J.S.Wijeratne, Prof. Sagarika Ekanayake, and Dr. Chalinda Beneragama evaluated the received applications for the Young Scientist Award, after an initial screening done by the steering committee appointed panel.  Dr. L.D.B. Suriayagoda, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya was selected as the Young Scientist for the year 2017 and the award was presented at the 7th YSF annual symposium which held at Wayamba University of Sri Lanka on 19th January 2018.

The Young Scientist Award 2017